Nominations Sought for Sixth Annual Heritage Awards

Aug 29 2009

Nominations Sought for Sixth Annual Heritage Awards

Annapolis, MD – Four Rivers: The Heritage Area of Annapolis, London Town & South County seeks nominations for its sixth annual heritage awards. These awards recognize individuals, organizations, partnerships, programs and products that contribute significantly to the community by interpreting, promoting, preserving, researching and/or supporting our historical legacy.

Awards are made in several different categories, including Heritage Tourism Product, New Initiatives, Heritage Partnership, Heritage Professional, and Public/Private Initiatives. The heritage area encourages nominations for green or environmentally friendly heritage-related products and tours, as well as nominations that include the use of technology in heritage-related educational products and tours. Nominations are also requested for the Legacy Award, which recognizes an individual or group who continues or preserves a traditional craft or livelihood, and the Heritage Award, which goes to an individual or organization for significant and long-lasting contributions to local history and heritage. Self-nominations are accepted.

Nomination forms are available online or by calling the Four Rivers Heritage Area office. Completed nominations must include a written statement of 500 words or less on why your nominee should be recognized in a particular category. Supplemental materials are required in some categories. A complete listing of previous awards winners is available on our website under About Us, then click on ‘Heritage Awards.’

The nominations deadline is September 28, 2009. A heritage area awards committee will review and evaluate nominations; awards will be presented at the Four Rivers annual meeting and awards ceremony in early November 2009.

Four Rivers, one of Maryland’s eleven state certified heritage areas, is part of the Maryland Heritage Areas Program. For more information, please call the heritage area office at 410-222-1805. Contact: Carol Benson, Executive Director.