Nominate a Heritage Practitioner or Program for an Award Today! Three Opportunities Available

Sep 16 2020

Nominate a Heritage Practitioner or Program for an Award Today! Three Opportunities Available

TrophyAwards season is coming up! If you know an outstanding heritage or historic preservation practitioner, be sure to nominate them for one of the special recognition opportunities below. Click on each awards name for more information.

Four Rivers Heritage Area Heritage Awards

Four Rivers: The Heritage Area of Annapolis, London Town & South County seeks nominations for its Seventeenth Annual Heritage Awards. These awards recognize individuals, organizations, partnerships, programs and products that contribute significantly to the community by interpreting, promoting, preserving, researching and/or supporting our historical legacy.

Completed nominations must include a brief written statement on why you feel your nominee should be recognized in a particular category. Supplemental materials are required in some categories. Please scan your nomination materials and send via e-mail to: [email protected]. Questions? Please send an e-mail to set up a time for a call.

Submission Deadline: October 9, 2020

Maryland Historical Trust Maryland Preservation Awards

The Maryland Preservation Awards, presented annually by the Board of Trustees of the Maryland Historical Trust, are the highest level of recognition for historic preservation, heritage education and community development projects in Maryland. Since 1975, MHT has honored the outstanding preservation efforts of more than 270 individuals and projects throughout the state. The awards honor and celebrate significant achievements by individuals, businesses, contractors, non-profit organizations, local governments and others who protect, promote, share and give continued life to the historic places and cultural heritage that make Maryland unique.

Awards are presented in four categories: Leaders; Education and Community Engagement; Project Excellence; and Stewardship. Read the 2021 Maryland Preservation Awards Nomination Instructions.

Submission Deadline: September 30, 2020

Maryland State Arts Council Heritage Awards

The Maryland State Arts Council (MSAC) is pleased to announce that nominations are open for 2021 Maryland Heritage Awards. The public is invited to nominate individuals, places, and traditions for outstanding achievement in traditional arts and culture. Heritage Awards recognize long-term achievement in folklife, or community-based living cultural traditions handed down by example or word of mouth. Awards are given through the Maryland Traditions state folklife program and annually recognize one recipient in each of three categories: Person/People, Place, and Tradition.

Awards are given based on a nominee’s sustained commitment to a particular traditional practice, current importance to communities in which that traditional practice is significant, and past contributions to that traditional practice. Read the Heritage Awards guidelines and evaluation criteria.

Submission Deadline: October 15, 2020

Good luck to all of our local nominees! We look forward to celebrating you in the fall.