Four Rivers Announces Sixth Annual Heritage Award Winners

Nov 06 2009

Four Rivers Announces Sixth Annual Heritage Award Winners

Annapolis, MD – Four Rivers: The Heritage Area of Annapolis, London Town & South County is pleased to announce this year’s annual heritage award winners. Four Rivers Heritage Awards recognize individuals, organizations, programs and products that contribute significantly to the community by interpreting, promoting, preserving, researching and/or supporting our historical legacy.

Four Rivers congratulates this year’s heritage award winners in the following categories:

  • Heritage Professional: Scotti Preston, Historic Annapolis Foundation Living History performer and educator
  • Heritage Professional: Dr. John Kille, Lost Towns Project, Londontown Foundation and Anne Arundel County Trust for Preservation
  • Legacy Award: Dr. Joan M. E. Gaither, Documentary Story Quilter
  • Legacy Award: Norman Hazard of Galesville, Waterman and Boatbuilder
  • New Initiative Award: Waypoint Signage and Brochure Showcasing “Best Practices” in Environmental Conservation. Honorees: City of Annapolis Environmental Commission
  • Heritage Product: Carr’s Beach Historic Music Festival. Honoree: Larry Griffin, Organizer
  • Heritage Area Certificate of Merit: The Hanover Street Historic Streetscape Reconstruction Project. Honorees: Century Design Engineers, Anchor Construction, Goodwin & Associates, and the Honorable Ellen O. Moyer
  • Heritage Award: Mavis Daly, Shady Side Rural Heritage Society
  • Heritage Award: Dr. Al Luckenbach, Anne Arundel County Archaeologist and Founder of the Lost Towns Project

The heritage awards were presented at a ceremony at Historic London Town & Garden on November 4th.

Four Rivers, one of Maryland’s eleven state certified heritage areas, is part of the Maryland Heritage Areas Program. For more information, please access or call the heritage area office at 410-222-1805.