On Sunday, January 7, the Odenton Heritage Society will present “Before the Naval Academy Dairy: The Life and Times of the Hammond Family,” a display about the country estate of a prominent 18th century Annapolis family. Located in Gambrills, the 875-acre USNA Dairy replaced the Hammond estate in 1915 and closed in 1998, becoming a land preserve.
Through images of relics, grave markers, and a now-lost mansion, visitors can discover the Hammond family’s contributions including the Revolutionary War exploits and Gambrills burial place of Matthias Hammond, owner of the Hammond-Harwood House in Annapolis. The display sheds light on enslaved African-American workers in Gambrills and Hammond descendants who settled on adjacent lands that later became Odenton neighborhoods. The OHS Historical Center, located at 1367 Odenton Road, also offers displays about Odenton’s growth as a railroad town since the 19th century, with costumed docents. Hours are from 1 pm to 4 pm, and admission is free.