The Hammond-Harwood House is a museum of early American architecture and art standing as a testament to the importance of preservation to the residents of Annapolis, and America. Built in 1774, this National Historic Landmark presents a window into the lives of the people who built the house, lived in it, and ensured that it would be enjoyed by future generations for years to come. Tours of the House highlight its refined design, unique history, and incomparable collection of paintings by Charles Willson Peale and furniture by John Shaw.
Open April – December for tours. Noon to 5:00 p.m (last tour at 4:00 p.m). Closed Tuesdays. Reserve a tour time online at hammondharwoodhouse.org. Walk-ins accommodated if space is available.
Tours and Programs:
Tours of the museum highlight architecture, social history, and the collection of paintings by Charles Willson Peale and furniture by John Shaw.
Open for tours – reservations suggested. Noon to 5:00 p.m (last tour at 4:00 p.m). Closed Tuesdays.
Telephone: (410) 263-4683
Address: 19 Maryland Ave., Annapolis, MD 21401
On the Hammond-Harwood House Facebook page, docents share some of their favorite pieces of art, architecture, and the fine examples of craftsmanship exhibited in the house.
The Hammond-Harwood House blog on the website features an “object of the week” —all about a painting, furniture piece, silver teapot, kitchen implement— as well as social history pieces on the enslaved and the family who lived in the house. The schedule for virtual lectures and programs can be found on the site.
Annapolis' Golden Age, Preservation, Virtual Experiences