The Annearrundell County Free School was established in 1723. It is perhaps the oldest remaining one-room schoolhouse in Maryland. Guests of all ages visiting the Free School Museum can experience educational practices from the 1700’s, when books and paper were scarce, and educational practices from the 1800’s, when Reading, Writing, and Arithmetic were the basics of the curriculum. The Free School Museum has several displays, including artifacts found on the property, a collection of textbooks used over 150 years ago, and toys that children might have played with in colonial times. The site has been on the National Register of Historic Places since 1983.
Download the brochure here: Free School Museum Brochure
Hours of Operation:
Cost of Entry: Free
Address: 1298 LaVall Drive, Davidsonville, Maryland 21035
Take a virtual tour of the Annearrundell County Free School Museum by visiting the Anne Arundel Retired School Personnel Association (AARSPA) Facebook page.
Attractions, Explore New Sites, Virtual Experiences