school exterior

Annearrundell County Free School Museum

1298 LaVall Drive
Davidsonville, MD 21035

410-268-8656

The Annearrundell County Free School was established in 1723.  It is perhaps the oldest remaining one-room schoolhouse in Maryland.  Guests of all ages visiting the Free School Museum can experience educational practices from the 1700’s, when books and paper were scarce, and educational practices from the 1800’s, when Reading, Writing, and Arithmetic were the basics of the curriculum.  The Free School Museum has several displays, including artifacts found on the property, a collection of textbooks used over 150 years ago, and toys that children might have played with in colonial times.  The site has been on the National Register of Historic Places since 1983.

Tours and visits on other days and dates can be made by contacting Karlie Everett at [email protected].

Virtual Experiences:

Take a virtual tour of the Annearrundell County Free School Museum by visiting the Anne Arundel Retired School Personnel Association (AARSPA) Facebook page.

  • Field Trips
  • Free Admission

Hours of Operation

The Annearrundell County Free School Museum Open House season is reopening after a two year hiatus. The site will be open on the second Saturday and the second Sunday of June, July, and August from 1:00-4:00 pm. (June 11 and June 12, July 9 and July 10, August 13 and August 14).

School Programs

During a field trip to the site guests will interact with educational materials and participate in lessons as the lessons would have been taught in the 1700’s and 1800’s.  The field trip experience and lessons are designed based on the age of the guests and also their purpose for visiting.
Contact:  Karlie Everett at [email protected]  for additional information or to make arrangements.