August 2017

Fall FY18 Mini-Grant Opportunity Announced!

[vc_row row_type="row" use_row_as_full_screen_section="no" type="full_width" text_align="left" box_shadow_on_row="no"][vc_column][vc_column_text]Four Rivers Heritage Area is please to announce the availability of our Fall FY18 Mini-Grants! Applications in the new grant cycle are due by October 6 and funding decisions will be announced by November 1, 2017. The application is available on our website, here. Click on the Mini-Grants tab. These Mini-Grants are available for new heritage and preservation-related programs, activities, products, and events. We encourage Mini-Grant proposals that include collaborative partnerships and enhanced heritage tourism, preservation, and/or the stewardship of historical, cultural, and natural resources. Non-profit organizations and...

Read More

New Flyer! Heritage Sites Along the South County Water Trail

New! Four Rivers has created a new flyer for our Water Trail visitors! Check out the heritage attractions in Southern Anne Arundel County, while you are in the area enjoying our water access and beautiful water views! Download the flyer here: South County Water Trail Flyer reduced South County Water Trail information is available here: More information about water access in the county is available here:

Read More

Get to Know Bill the Goat

Bill the Goat, the Naval Academy’s iconic mascot, is now enshrined at a new exhibit in the Armel-Leftwich Visitor Center at the Naval Academy. Bill the Goat has served as the official Naval Academy mascot since the 1890 inaugural Army-Navy football game. Since the original Bill’s debut, there have been at least 37 different live goat mascots, many of which have had the honor of wearing a game-day blanket laden with the N-Star, signifying a victory over Army. The unique history of the Bills and their admiration by midshipmen and Navy...

Read More

A Virtual Tour through the “Golden Age” of Annapolis Architecture

A Capital Beginning In 1694, The Maryland General Assembly voted to move the colony’s capital from St. Mary’s City to what was then called Anne Arundel Town. Thus was laid the foundations of Annapolis’ “golden age,” which lasted from the late 1750s to 1776. The Town Plan Governor France Nicholson created a new town plan in 1696, whose central concept of circles and squares were inspired by European urban design. The most prominent hills were reserved for buildings that represented state and church, the two pillars of colonial society – Maryland State House...

Read More